Colorado Landlord-Tenant Laws
It’s essential to follow the Colorado Residential Landlord and Tenant Laws when creating your lease agreement.
Source: Landlord Tenant Handbook
- Maximum Limit – The maximum security deposit that a landlord can charge in Colorado is an amount equal to or less than two month’s rent.
- Returning – Landlords must return security deposits within one month unless the lease specifies a deadline, which cannot exceed sixty days. If hazardous gas conditions led to lease termination, tenants must receive their deposit within seventy-two hours. Non-compliance may lead to legal consequences.
Source: § 38-12-102.5
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Any housing structure built before 1978 requires lead paint disclosure under federal law.
Radon Disclosure – Landlords must disclose any knowledge of radon concentrations to tenants, issue a warning statement, and provide a copy of the radon and real estate brochure.
Source: § 38-12-803
Grace Period – In Colorado, there is a grace period of seven days for late rent payments. Until the eighth day, no penalties can be charged. If the tenant is unable to pay by the eighth day, the landlord has the right to issue a 10-day notice to quit.
Maximum – Landlords can charge a late fee of $50 or 5% of the past due rent amount, whichever is greater. The lease agreement must disclose the late fee.
NSF Fee – $20 max.
Source: § 38-12-105
Entry to the Rental Property
- In Colorado, landlords are not obligated to furnish tenants with prior notice before entering their premises.
- However, it is highly recommended that landlords provide a notice period of 24 to 48 hours in advance of non-emergency entry.
Source: Landlord/Tenant Rights