Colorado Standard Rental Lease Agreement Templates

Download free Colorado standard lease agreement templates when renting property.

Last updated May 9th, 2024

Download free Colorado standard lease agreement templates when renting property.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease »
  3. Colorado

Colorado lease agreement is a legal contract when Landlords are renting property in exchange for rent payments from Tenants.

Rental Application – a form that landlords use to gather personal information and obtain consent from tenants to run a credit check and background report.

Options By Type

Standard Residential Lease Agreement

Download: PDF

Simple (1-Page) Lease Agreement

 

Download: PDF

Most Recent US Home Facts

  • Population (2023): 334,914,895
  • Median Households (2022): 125,736,353
  • Median Household Income (2022): $75,149
  • Owner-occupied Households (2022): 64.8%

Source: U.S. Census Bureau

Must Include These Key Elements

colorado-lease-agreement

Disclosures

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure Form – Any housing structure built before 1978 requires Lead Paint Disclosure under federal law.

Radon Disclosure Form – Landlords in Colorado must comply with the Radon Disclosure law. They are required to reveal any information they have regarding radon concentrations at the property and issue a warning statement to potential tenants about the dangers of radon. Additionally, landlords must provide Tenants with a copy of the brochure on radon and real estate from the Department of Health & Environment.

Radon Disclosure law – Required to reveal any information they have regarding radon concentrations at the property and issue a warning statement to potential tenants about the dangers of radon. Landlords must provide tenants with a copy of the brochure on radon and real estate from the Department of Health & Environment.

Source: C.R.S. § 38-12-803

Security Deposits

Maximum – The maximum amount of security deposit that a landlord can charge in Colorado is an amount that is equal to or less than two month’s rent.

Return – The landlord must return the security deposit within one (1) month. However, if the lease agreement outlines a specific deadline for the return of the security deposit, the landlord must adhere to such a deadline, which cannot exceed sixty (60) days.

Return after Termination – In cases where the lease has been terminated as a result of hazardous conditions arising from gas equipment, the tenant is entitled to receive their security deposit within a maximum of seventy-two (72) hours. It is important to note that landlords must strictly comply with these legal requirements, and failure to do so may result in legal repercussions.

security-deposits

Source: C.R.S. § 38-12-102.5

Landlord Access

  • In the state of Colorado, landlords are not obligated to furnish tenants with prior notice before entering their premises. However, it is highly recommended that landlords provide a notice period of 24 to 48 hours in advance of non-emergency entry.
  • Landlords do not need to notify Tenants if the access is for Bed Bug Fumigation.
Source: § 38-12-1004

Paying Rent

Grace Period – In the state of Colorado, lessees are granted a seven (7) day grace period for tardy rental payments. Property owners are prohibited from imposing any fees or penalties on rental payments until the eighth (8th) day. If the tenant fails to remit payment by the conclusion of the grace period, the landlord may issue a ten-day notice to vacate.

Written Disclosure – Colorado landlords or their agents can charge late fees if disclosed on the lease.

Maximum Penalty – Landlords may charge a late fee of $50 or 5% of past due rent, whichever is greater, as the maximum penalty.

NSF Fee – $20 per bounced check.

Source: C.R.S. § 38-12-105(a), C.R.S. § 38-12-105(1)(c)C.R.S. § 38-12-105(1)

FAQs

  1. How to break a lease in Colorado? To break a lease in Colorado, one needs to give the other party proper notice, pay the associated fees and/or penalties and find new Tenant.
  2. How to evict a Tenant in Colorado? Must provide written notice. If the Tenant refuses to leave then the Landlord must file legally through the Colorado Judicial Branch.
  3. When can you file Colorado state taxes 2024? April 15th.
  4. Does Colorado have state income taxes? Yes.
  5. Is Colorado a 50/50 divorce state? No. Colorado marital property is divided fairly but not always equally because Colorado follows equitable distribution laws.
  6. Where is Colorado State University? Fort Collins, Colorado.

Recommended Services

Colorado Standard Lease Agreement Sample

Colorado Lease Agreement