Alaska Standard Rental Lease Agreement Templates

Everything you need to know about Alaska standard rental lease agreements. Free basic fill-in-the-blanks agreement documents available in Google Documents, Word Processing, PDF formats and more. Download by clicking on the buttons below. Learn more on what to include in the agreement form by reading the information provided below.

Last updated May 9th, 2024

Everything you need to know about Alaska standard rental lease agreements. Free basic fill-in-the-blanks agreement documents available in Google Documents, Word Processing, PDF formats and more. Download by clicking on the buttons below. Learn more on what to include in the agreement form by reading the information provided below.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease »
  3. Alaska

A standard Alaska rental lease agreement is used when Landlords lease out their rental property to Tenants in exchange for monthly rent payments. The exchange may also include security deposits and parking fees.

Alaska’s Lease – PDF Version

Alaska’s Deposit Receipt PDF

Rental Application – Rental applicants must undergo employment, credit, and background checks.

Options By Type

Standard Residential Lease Agreement

Download: PDF

Simple (1-Page) Lease Agreement

Download: PDF

 

Alaska Landlord-Tenant Laws

Follow the Alaska Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act when creating your lease agreement.

Most Recent US Home Facts

  • Population (2023): 334,914,895
  • Median Households (2022): 125,736,353
  • Median Household Income (2022): $75,149
  • Owner-occupied Households (2022): 64.8%

Source: U.S. Census Bureau

Key Elements to Include in a Alaska Rental Lease Agreement Form

leaese-agreement

Required Disclosures

  1. Landlord’s Contact Details
  2. Lead-Based Paint Disclosure

Security Deposits

  • Maximum Limit – Landlords can charge a security deposit not exceeding two months’ rent (including pet deposits if applicable).
  • Returning – Upon termination of the lease, the landlord must return the deposit within 14 days. If the landlord deducts money from the deposit for damages, the landlord has 30 days to return the remaining amount.
  • Withholding – Within 14 days of receiving the deposit, landlords must provide tenants with a written notice explaining the conditions under which they may withhold all or part of the deposit.

Source: § 34.03.070

Landlord Access

  • General Access/Legal Notice – Landlords must provide reasonable written notice (typically 24 hours) before entering the rental unit for non-emergency purposes, except in abandonment cases.
  • Emergency – In emergencies, landlords can enter without notice.

Paying Rent

Grace Period – There’s no grace period in the state of Alaska.

Reasons for Eviction

  • Material Affecting Health and Safety – If a material defect occurs on the property, the Landlord must cure it within ten days after receiving notice from the Tenant. If it is not fixed within 20 days, the tenant can terminate the tenancy.
  • Recurrence of Noncompliance – If a prior breach reoccurs within six months of the last breach, the tenant may terminate the lease with ten days written notice.

Source: § 34.03.160

Repairs and Maintenance

  • Who is responsible – The Landlords are responsible for maintaining the property in a habitable condition. Tenants must notify landlords in writing of any necessary repairs or issues with the property.
  • Time Frame – The law does not require the Landlord or Tenant to fix a condition in a specified time.

Source: § 34.03.100

Evictions

  • Legal – Tenant has seven days to pay rent in full after receiving notice of nonpayment from the Landlord. If rent still goes unpaid, the tenancy terminates unless the Landlord agrees to extend.
  • Illegal – Do-it-yourself eviction methods, such as changing locks or shutting off utilities, are unlawful.

Source: § 09.45.090 – § 09.45.105

Rent Increases: How Much Can Landlord Increase My Rent?

Landlords can raise the rent to any amount as there are no caps on the amount in Alaska.

FAQs

  1. How much do real estate agents make in Alaska? As of 2020, the average annual wage for real estate agents was $63,720.
  2. How much is real estate in Alaska? The average home price in Alaska is around $293,000.
  3. How to become a real estate agent in Alaska? Must be at least 19 years old to apply through the Alaska Real Estate Commission.
  4. Are there real estate taxes in Alaska? Yes.
  5. When is the best time to travel to Alaska? Summer months: June to August.

Recommended Services

Sample

Alaska Standard Residential Rental Lease Agreement