Kansas Landlord-Tenant Laws
Both Landlords and Tenants must comply with Kansas State Laws.
Maximum – A landlord can charge up to 1 month’s rent for an unfurnished property and 1.5 months’ rent for a furnished one as security deposit.
Interest – Landlords are not obligated to collect or remit interest on security deposits.
Returns – The deposit shall be returned to the Tenant within 30 days of the termination of the lease date.
List – Landlords can deduct money from the security deposits for property damages by giving the Tenant an idemized list of damages within 14 days of the Tenants move out date. .
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Any structure built before 1978 requires a lead-based paint disclosure form to be signed by new tenants.
Manager Identification – Authorized Persons must be listed in the agreement with an address for landlord notices. Updates required.
Itemize – Within the first five days of moving in, the landlord and tenant need to walk around the place together and make a list of any damages or repairs that were there before.
Grace Period – In Kansas, there’s no grace period for rent payments. If the tenant doesn’t pay, the landlord can send a three or 10-day notice to quit for breaking the lease terms, depending on how long they’ve been renting. That means the tenant has to either pay up or move out within that time frame.
Maximum – Landlords have no limit on the amount.
NSF Fee – Tenants can be charged a maximum of $30 per check.
Source: § 16a-2-501
Entry to the Rental Property
The Landlord should give Tenants notice of entry within 24 hours unless its an emergency.
Source: § 58-2557