Maine Commercial Real Estate Lease Agreement
Maximum – The maximum amount Landlords can charge their Tenants equals two months’ rent unless the property is owner-occupied with five or fewer units.
Returns – For fixed leases, the Landlord must return security deposits within 30 days of the lease termination date. For month-to-month leases, the Landlord must return the security deposit within 21 days of the lease termination date.
Source: § 6033(2)
Bedbugs Infestation Disclosure – If the rental property is treated or has bedbugs, it must be relayed to the tenant in writing. Refer to the Fact Sheet by Maine Housing.
Electricity to Common Areas – Landlords cannot bill their Tenants for electricity, heat, or any utility or service for common areas.
Energy Efficiency Disclosure – This is to be completed by the landlord and signed by the tenant.
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – All rental properties built before 1978 must have this form attached and signed by the Tenants.
Radon Disclosure Form – Landlords must check for radon every decade and give it to all Tenants.
Rental Housing Rights Disclosure Form (Portland ONLY) – This document must be given to the Tenant before the first lease date.
Security Deposit Location – The bank name and account number where the funds are stored must be provided.
Smoking Policy – The landlord must clearly state the smoking policy and rules on the premises.
Source: § 14, Ch. 710
The Americans with Disability Act, 42 U.S. Code § 12183 For Commercial Tenants that provide “public accommodation” or handicap rule with minimum of fifteen employees