Arizona Landlord-Tenant Laws
The following laws and disclosures are required by the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, A.R.S. Title 33, Chapter 10.
Maximum – The landlord can charge the Tenant a security deposit, as long as it doesn’t exceed 1.5 times the monthly rent.
Returning – The Landlord should return the security deposit to the Tenant within 14 days of the move-out inspection.
Source: § 33-1321
Bed Bug Disclosure Form – Landlords need to provide Tenants with bed bug prevention and treatment information for tenants.
Landlord Tenant Act Form – The landlord must provide the tenant with a copy of the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – The landlord must provide tenants with information on lead-based paint if the rental property was built before 1978.
Move-in and Move-out Condition Checklist – Move-in/Move-out Condition Checklist is required. The Landlord must do a move-out inspection by giving written notice to the Tenant before the move-out date.
Notice – Landlords must disclose the property management contact information and legal notice details in the lease agreement.
Fees – Fees that are labeled non-refundable in the agreement are non-refundable.
Pool Safety Notice – Landlords renting a property with a pool must understand the Pool Safety Notice.
Shared Utility Charge – If the landlord uses a shared meter, the rental agreement must state how the costs are calculated.
Taxes – The landlord can increase the rent because of the business pass-through tax. The landlord must give the tenant proper notice at least thirty (30) days before the rent increase. This option to increase the rent must be in the lease agreement.
Source: § 4852d
Maximum Penalty – Under Arizona law, there’s no maximum penalty that a landlord can charge unless it is stated in the lease they can charge any amount.
Manufactured homes – are subject to a daily fee of up to $5.00
NSF Fee – A landlord may charge up to $25
Source: § 33.1446
Landlords’ Right to Enter
The Landlord needs to give their Tenants a notice minimum of 48 hours before entering the property for non-emergency issues.
Not Protected Under Arizona Law
- College Housing, i.g. Sorority and Fraternity Housing – Housing that is part of a college or university in Arizona is not protected under the Arizona Landlord-Tenant Act.
- Employee Housing – a living arrangement provided by the tenant’s employer will not be covered under Arizona Landlord-Tenant Act laws.
- Mobile Homes – Tenants renting out mobile home property will not be covered by the Arizona Landlord-Tenant Act.