Iowa Landlord Tenant Laws
Maximum – Landlords can charge Tenants up to two months’ rent.
Interest – Although Iowa Laws do not govern security deposits in interests accounts, the Landlord has the right to collect interest off of security deposits during the lease term.
Returns – The Landlord must return security deposits to the Tenant within 30 days of the end of the tenancy date. If the Landlord deducts any charges from the security deposit, the Landlord must give the Tenant an itemized list of the costs.
Source: § 562a.12
Identification – Landlords must identify authorized agents and notice addresses in the contract.
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – If a property was built before 1978, the Landlord MUST give Tenants a copy of the lead-based paint disclosure forms.
Utilities – The Landlord must disclose any shared utilities, including each cost.
Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and Liability Information System
Source: § 562a.13
Grace Period – Iowa has no grace period, although the Landlords can give Tenants a 3-day notice to quit if the rent is late.
Maximum – The maximum amount is calculated depending on the monthly rent amount. If the rent amount is $700 or less, Landlords can charge $12 per day but no more than $60 monthly. For rental properties $700 or more in rent per month, Landlords can charge up to $20 per day but no more than $100 per month.
NSF Fee – Landlords can charge Tenants up to $25 per bounced check.
Entry to the Rental Property
Iowa requires Landlords to give Tenants at least 24 hours’ notice before entering the rental property unless it is an emergency.
Source: § 56a.19