Hawaii Landlord Tenant Laws
It’s important for both Landlords and Tenants to be up to date with the rights and reponsibilities of each party.
Maximum – The maximum security desposit a landlord can request from a tenant equals one months rent. A pet desposit may be requested as well.
Returns – 14 days after the lease termination date.
Source: § 521-44(b)
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Any housing structure built before 1978 requires lead paint disclosure under federal law.
Property Condition Disclosure Form
Source: § 521-43
Grace Period – No grace period in the state of Hawaii.
Maximum – The landlord can charge any amount because there’s no laws on the maximum amount a landlord can charge for late rent.
NSF Fee – $25 per bounced check.
Source: § 521-68
Entry to the Rental Property
The Landlord MUST give the Tenant at least 48 hours (2 days) notice before entering the rental property.
Source: § 521-53