Connecticut Landlord Tenant Laws
Both Landlords and Tenants need to be up to date with the rights and responsibilities of each party.
Source: § 47a
In Connecticut, landlords can request up to two months’ rent as a security deposit from tenants under sixty-two years old and up to one month’s rent for tenants over sixty-two.
Landlords must return the deposit and any interest within 21 days of the tenant vacating the property or within fifteen days of receiving the forwarding address.
Source:§ 47a-21 to 47a-22a
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Any housing structure built before 1978 requires lead paint disclosure under federal law.
Sprinkler Disclosure – The lease must disclose whether a sprinkler system is installed and include the date of the last inspection.
Identitfy Landlord – The lease must include the landlord’s name and address for legal notices.
Condo Community Disclosure – Disclosure of common-interest community required for condominiums.
Source: § 830
Grace Period – Connecticut law allows for a nine-day grace period. The landlord cannot charge late fees or begin eviction proceedings until day 10 with a 3-day notice to quit.
Maximum – Connecticut law allows landlords to charge a late fee for rent payments received after nine days from the due date. The maximum penalty is either $50 or 5% of the delinquent rent payment, whichever is less. The 5% limit applies if the rental agreement is paid in whole or in part by a governmental or charitable entity.
NSF Fee – $20 max per check.
Source: § 47a-15a
Entry to the Rental Property (Landlord)
The landlord must give the tenant reasonable notice before entering the rental property for maintenance, inspection, or to show the property. In emergencies, the landlord can enter the property without the tenant’s consent.
Source: § 47a-16