Required Disclosures (1)
- Lead-based Paint Disclosure Form – This disclosure is required if the property was built before 1978 the Landlord must give the form to the Tenant.
Source: § 4852d
- Maximum – the most amount of security deposits the landlord can request from the tenant is two months rent.
- Return – The total security deposit amount must be returned to the tenant within 60 days after the lease terminates. If the tenant does not accept the security deposit return, the funds will become the landlords after 180 days.
Source: § 18-16-304
- The Landlord should give the Tenant prior notice of entry but it is not regulated under Arkansas law.
- The Tenant should be notified prior to entry out of consideration for the Tenants privacy and time.
Grace Period – Tenants have to pay rent on the date mentioned in the lease. There are no Grace Periods in Arkansas. The landlord can end the rental agreement if the rent remains unpaid for five days.
Maximum Late Fee – Landlords can charge late fees, but they must be reasonable and cover only actual costs.
NSF Fee – The limit is $30 per bounced check.
Withholding Rent – It is not permissible for tenants to refuse to pay rent for any reason.
Source: § 18-17-401
Breaking a Lease
- Evitction – If Tenant fails to pay rent, the Landllord can start the eviction process.
- Damages – If the tenant damages the property beyond normal wear and tear.
- Loss of Security Deposit – If the tenant does not pay rent, the Landlord may use the security deposit toward the missed rent payements.
Source: § 5
Lease Repairs and Maintenance
The Landlord is required by law to upkeep the rental property to a habitable state including common areas. This includes keeping the property in safe and clean condition.
Source: § 18-11-109