Louisiana Landlord-Tenant Laws
Maximum – Landlords cannot request the maximum security deposits from their Tenants.
Returns – The Landlord must return security deposits to the Tenant within one month of the lease end date. If the Landlord does not replace the deposits within one month, then the Landlord will be charged $300 OR twice the security deposit amount (the more significant number will be the amount owed to the Tenant).
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Under Federal Law, if the rental property was built before 1978, the lead-based paint disclosure form must be given to the Tenants.
Grace Period – Although there’s no grace period in Louisiana, Landlords can issue a 5-day notice to quit the day after the rent due date.
Maximum – Landlords can charge any amount for late rent.
NSF Fee – 5%-25% of the monthly rent amount, whichever is greater.